Rudyard's Lighthouse on the Eddystone Rocks by James Record

Rudyard's Lighthouse on the Eddystone Rocks

James Record

Fine art poster

More products…
  • Amazing giclée print quality
  • 280gsm thick fine art print paper
  • 100+ year colour guarantee

Image information


Sizing information

Overall size x cm ( x in)
Artwork x cm ( x in)
Border (mount) cm top/bottom (in)
cm left/right (in)
Depth 3.8cm (1.5)
Frame face 2cm (0.79in)
Depth 2.3cm (0.9in)
Model is 5ft4in or 1.62m
Model is 5'4" (1.62m)

Our prints

We use a 280gsm fine art paper and premium branded inks to create the perfect reproduction.

Our expertise and use of high-quality materials means that our print colours are independently verified to last between 100 and 200 years.

Read more about our fine art prints.

Manufactured in the UK

All products are created in our Surrey print factory in the UK, and we are the trusted printing partner of many high profile and respected art galleries and museums.

We are proud to have produced over 1 million prints for hundreds of thousands of customers.

Delivery & returns

We print everything to order so delivery times may vary but all unframed prints are despatched within 2-4 days via courier or recorded mail.

Delivery to the UK is £5 for an unframed print of any size.

We will happily replace your order if everything isn’t 100% perfect.

Product details Rudyard's Lighthouse on the Eddystone Rocks

Rudyard's Lighthouse on the Eddystone Rocks

James Record

Depiction of the south elevation and section of the second lighthouse built upon the Eddystone Rocks, near Plymouth, following the destruction in 1703 of Henry Winstanley's first version. This second lighthouse, a conical wooden structure built around a core of brick and concrete, was constructed under the management of the silk merchant and property developer John Rudyard (or Rudyerd; 1650- ca.1718). It was completed in 1709 and destroyed by a fire in 1755, subsequently replaced by the famous Smeaton lighthouse. Plate 6 of A narrative of the building and a description of the construction of the Edystone lighthouse with stone, by John Smeaton (London, 1791). The Royal Society's copy was donated by the author on 20 January 1791. The plate is inscribed: 'South ELEVATION & SECTION of RUDYERD'S LIGHTHOUSE, Completed in 1709; represented as it stood previous to its demolition by Fire in the Year 1755.' Includes scale: 1 inch = 6 feet

Original: line engraving. 1784

  • Image ref: RS-10378
  • The Royal Society

Find related images

Rudyard's Lighthouse on the Eddystone Rocks by James Record zoom

Discover more

More by the artist James Record.

Explore the collection Royal Society.

Search for similar fine art prints

This image on other products